Nbhm.dae.gov.in Nbhm Scholarships For Doctoral Program (ph.d) In Mathematics 2017-18

Discussion in 'Latest Scholarships and Fellowships' started by OnlineScholarship, Dec 7, 2016.

  1. OnlineScholarship

    OnlineScholarship Administrator Staff Member

    If you want to join joint screening test, then you can submit the applications for (i) the grant of NBHM scholarships to students for pursuing research for a Ph.D. degree in mathematics and (ii) admissions to the Ph.D./Integrated Ph.D. programmes of certain institutions in India which include the Harish-Chandra Research Institute (HRI), Allahabad, the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Pune, and the Institute of Mathematical Sciences (IMSc), Chennai. These applications are invited by the National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM), Department of Atomic Energy.

    The selected candidates will be awarded with the scholarship amount of Rs. 25000/- p.m. for the Ist year & IInd Year and Rs. 28000/- for subsequent years along with the Contingency grant. The details like benefits provided, eligibility and application process are as follows.

    Important Dates :

    Last date for receiving applications : December 9, 2016.

    Applicant should contact zonal coordinator if hall ticket is not received by this date : January 6, 2017

    Applicant should contact centre-in-charge suggested by zonal coordinator if hall ticket is not received by this date : January 16, 2017

    Date of written test : January 21, 2017

    Eligibility Criteria :

    =<>. Applicants for the NBHM PhD scholarship must be mathematically motivated and hold a masters degree in (pure or applied) mathematics or statistics or must be final year students of these degree courses.

    =<>. They must have a good academic record (first class or equivalent grade in all years from Plus Two level to the present.

    =<>. Students having passed a B.Sc.(Honours) course with a second class may also apply, provided they have a masters degree or are in the final year of the same.

    =<>. Students holding a four-year B.S. (or equivalent) degree, or those in the final year of such a programme, may also apply, but they are eligible to receive the NBHM scholarship only if they secure admission to a recognized Ph.D. programme by August 2017.

    =<>. Students who wish to apply for the Ph.D./Integrated Ph.D. programmes of HRI, IISER, Pune, or IMSc must apply and appear for the written test. For this students holding a B.Sc./B. Stat/B.S./B.Tech./B.E. degree, or those in the final year of such degree courses, with a consistently good academic record from Plus Two level as mentioned above may also apply.

    =<>. To receive the NBHM Ph.D. Scholarship, the students must have completed their B.S./M.A./M.Sc. (or equivalent) degree and have secured admission to a recognized Ph.D. programme on or before August 1, 2017.

    Benefits Provided :

    #=] The selected candidates will get a scholarship amount of Rs. 25,000/- (Rupees Twenty-five Thousand Only) per month for the Ist & IInd year and Rs. 28,000/- (Rupees Twenty-eight Thousand) per month for subsequent years.

    #=] A Contingency Grant of Rs. 32,000/- (Rupees Thirty-two Thousand) per year will also be given to the selected scholars.

    #=] House Rent Allowance will also be given as per central government Rules where applicable.

    #=] Normally the scholarships will be given for a period of 4 years, sanctioned for one year at a time and renewable at the end of each year, subject to satisfactory progress.

    Application Process :

    The applications for NBHM scholarships should be received in the prescribed format.

    The application should be accompanied with recent Passport size photograph of the candidate and a self-addressed envelope affixed with a Rs. 5/- postage stamp to the address as given below for the appropriate zone in which the candidate wishes to appear for the written test.

    The envelope containing the application should be superscribed NBHM Ph.D. Scholarship.

    Applications should not be sent to the NBHM office.

    The candidates should mention the names of two centres from the respective zone giving in the order of preference.

    Addresses of zonal coordinators for sending completed applications:

    Zone 1
    Prof. Gurmeet Kaur Bakshi, Department of Mathematics, Punjab University, Hans Raj Gupta Hall, Chandigarh - 160 014.


    Zone 2
    Prof. Kalyan Chakraborty, Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Chhatnag Road, Jhusi, Allahabad - 211 019.


    Zone 3
    Prof. Siddhartha Bhattacharya, School of Mathematics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Homi Bhabha Road, Colaba, Mumbai - 400 005.


    Zone 4
    Dr. Avishek Adhikari, Department of Pure Mathematics, University of Calcutta, 35, Ballygunge Circular Road, Kolkata - 700 019.


    Zone 5
    Prof. S. Kesavan, c/o Institute of Mathematical Sciences, CIT Campus, Taramani, Chennai - 600 113.


    Selection Process:
    (@) To be selected for NBHM Scholarship, the applicants must appear for a written test .

    (@) The questions will be based on the topics normally covered in masters degree programmes in mathematics.

    (@) The duration of the test will be 50 minutes and will involve questions with short answers.

    (@) The applicants can get the question papers of earlier years from the NBHM website and on the IMSc website.

    (@) The candidates will be shortlisted for interview on the basis of performance in the written test.

    Written Test Centres :

    Zone 1: Chandigarh, Delhi, Srinagar

    Zone 2: Allahabad, Indore, Jabalpur, Raipur

    Zone 3: Goa, Mumbai, Pune, Vallabh Vidyanagar

    Zone 4: Bhubaneswar, Guwahati, Kolkata, Ranchi, Shillong

    Zone 5: Bangalore, Chennai, Cochin, Hyderabad

Share This Page